h1

Fully-assembled boards

2011/06/07

I got a call yesterday that triggered a mad dash to try to get to Canby by 5pm to grab the freshly assembled PCBs.  Not sure they wouldn’t have answered after 5pm, but didn’t want to take the chance, eh? ;-)

The only error was actually caused by Digikey, where somehow they managed to stick a cut tape of some random SOT23-5 part inside a bag marked for SC70-6 parts…  I’ll have to figure that one out with them and mount those parts myself.  Luckily those are on the controller boards, of which there are only 3.

I have to assemble the 3rd board of each stack myself, because I ran them on the DorkbotPDX group order.  That’s because they’re simple by design, so I can run variations more frequently (and cheaper) as I work on fine-tuning that part of the product.  That and the debug board (which I have to solder a cable to) bracket the above boards, making the whole thing quite colorful ;-)

Part of my design is careful re-usability of parts.  The interface boards I’ve designed for upgradability are also snapped onto the controller, so if I come up with a better version I can replace the controller’s interface just as easily as all the others.

The next step of course is to bootstrap them, which is always a very nerve-wracking procedure…  It begs the question though: if the boards are red and purple, what color of smoke should come out if something goes wrong???

Leave a Reply

